× You are not currently logged in. To receive all the benefits our site has to offer, we encourage you to log in now.

Healthcare Environment Awards

Recognizing innovative, life-enhancing design that contributes to the quality of health and healthcare.

The Center for Health Design, in partnership with Healthcare Design magazine, administers the annual Healthcare Environment Awards. The application period for the 2022 awards will open in the spring.

Design can improve safety.
Design can enhance experiences.
Design can increase organizational efficiency.
Design can improve any number of outcomes. Tell us about yours.

The Center for Health Design. Moving healthcare forward.

Award categories:

  • Acute (Inpatient) Care Facilities

  • Ambulatory (Outpatient) Care Facilities

  • Long-Term Care/Assisted Living Facilities

  • Conceptual Design 

  • Student Design Work

  • Alternative Settings*

*There is an interest in specialties such as Health & Fitness Wellness Facilities, Landscape Design, Behavioral Health, Pediatrics, Health and Education, Technology and Telehealth, Healthcare at Home, Community Health Centers, etc.

2021 Eligibility

  • Professional entries of built work must be interiors that are fully operational no earlier than September 1, 2019, and no later than July 1, 2021.
  • Conceptual entries must have been completed in either 2020 or 2021.
  • Student entries must have been completed in either the 2019-20 or 2020-21 school years.
  • If your project fits the eligibility requirements above and has previously been submitted for the Healthcare Environment Award but was not an award recipient, you may reapply. However, we encourage you to give a careful eye to the application questions and consider how your responses may be more descriptive of your project and the process used.
  • Firms may enter multiple projects within the same year. The projects can be in the same category.

2021 Logistics

  • Entries must be blinded – remove all mention of firm/university/organization and individuals within the narrative; no logos are to be included on images.
  • Professional entries of built completed work must include a minimum of six and maximum of 10 images, including a minimum of one floor plan, all submitted in .jpg format.
  • Conceptual and student entries must include a maximum of 10 .jpg images of renderings or photographs of models.
  • Submission Fees:
    • Professional built and conceptual entries: $350
    • Affiliate+ and Corporate Affiliate member entries = $300
    • Student entries: $40
  • Deadline to submit: July 16, 2021 by 12:00AM Pacific
  • The decisions of the judges is final. The judges reserve the right to make no award.​

2021 Tips

  • You are encouraged to write a narrative with the input of the interdisciplinary team.
  • For the purpose of this award’s goals, stock “marketing” language typically used in promotional materials is usually not the best way to communicate complex and nuanced strategies that have been considered and weighed against other options.

2021 Recognition/Awards
Healthcare Design Conference 2021

  • Winners will be announced at The Center for Health Design’s awards presentation during the 2021 Healthcare Design Expo & Conference.
  • Winners should plan to assemble two presentation boards of projects for display at the Conference. Additional details will be provided after awards are determined.
  • Winners receive one complimentary registration to Healthcare Design Conference.

Other Recognition

  • One crystal award will be presented to each winning project.
  • Winning projects will be featured in an issue of Healthcare Design magazine and on The Center for Health Design’s website.
  • Winning projects may also be featured in a Center for Health Design awards booklet and/or webinar.


2021 Submission Criteria: 

Healthcare Environment Awards Submission Form (Basic)

Healthcare Environment Awards Submission Form (Student/Conceptual)


Past Winning Projects

2021 Award Winners

2020 Award Winners

2019 Award Winners

2018 Healthcare Environment Award winners below:

2017 Award Winners

2016 Award Winners

2015 Award Winners

2014 Award Winners 

2013 Award Winners

2012 Award Winners